Print Journalism 2014 – John

Just the Job

John Mills, student ambassador at City University

John Mills, 20 years, is a student ambassador studying journalism at City University London. JohnHe was born in Birmingham, 1994. We interviewed him and found a very entertaining and fun person inside him.

What inspired you to study journalism?

When I was younger my dad used to read The Sun newspaper. When he finished reading he gave it to me and told me to read between the lines.

What are your hobbies?

In my spare time I like to read. My favourite books are The Autobiography of Malcolm X and 1984. I really enjoyed reading Malcolm X because the author touches upon everything in the book. Also I enjoy listening to music and jogging because I find it keeps me calm. I enjoy rapping to some of my favourite songs too. I am also working towards studying Arabic so I can communicate with some of my Arabian friends and hopefully read the Quran.

What does studying journalism involve?

It involves writing and working to deadlines. It also involves me using lots of media and having great skills in group work. Sometimes it involves me having to tutor some people studying journalism and helping them with their GCSE’s.

What do you like and dislike about your job?

The best thing about my job is that I can see the world from a different light and work with other people with different cultures and who I have never worked with before. What I dislike about my job is that the deadlines are very short notices.

What did you want to be when you were younger and what are your future hopes?

When I was younger I always wanted to be a lawyer. My future hopes are to become a lecturer and musician.

Leave a Reply

